Lots to see, little to care about in ‘Ghosts in the Shell’

Ghost In the Shell

BY ROGER THOMAS

    I do not need a lot from a film. A good story. Some emotion. Someone to root for and/or someone to root against. I am not concerned about the genre; I embrace most any kind of film as long as it is a film made well. Often times people ask me, “What kind of movies do you like?” I always respond the same way. “Good ones.”

     “Ghost in the Shell” is a very busy film. There are many shots of futuristic streets in a congested city and there are too many things to see. One would need the ability to pause the film before he or she could take in all the sights and sounds that populate this motion picture. After a while I convinced myself to stop trying to take it all in. I suppose if I watched the film ten times I might see most of what was on the screen, but I have no intentions of watching the film a second time, much less multiple viewings.

     I could describe for you what I think the film is about, but I am not sure I would get it right. I do know that Scarlett Johansson plays the lead character. I like her a lot and think she has done many good things: “Hail, Caesar!,” “Chef,” “Hitchcock,” “We bought a Zoo,” “The Prestige” and “Lost in Translation,” just to name a few. I would not place “Ghost of the Shell” in this partial list of Johansson’s better films.  

     When I first started seeing the trailers for “Ghost” I thought that perhaps this was a sequel to the 1984 film “Lucy.” That was three years ago and I do not remember everything about “Lucy” but in the end she become more powerful than a normal person. Somehow I connected that with “Ghost in the Shell.” But that was my mistake.

     “Ghost in the Shell” is supposed to be set in the near future. Wow. They must be making advances I do not know about if we are ready to transfer one’s knowledge and personality into computer elements so people can live on as androids. Not only do we keep our memories, if the people one works for does not alter those images, but we also have superpowers. That way we can spend most of the time fighting.

     I would not be surprised if this film is acknowledged for technical awards at the end of the year. Though I found much of it too bizarre for sincere praise, I can accept that there is artistry there. Johansson does as much as anyone could in the role of Major. I suppose all those violent fight scenes had to be choreographed by someone, and they deserve a nod, for quantity of work, if nothing else.

     I also was glad to see Juliette Binoche as Dr. Ouelet; I have been a fan of hers since she won the Oscar for Supporting Actress in “The English Patient” in 1996. I would like to see her in more significant roles than this in the days ahead.

     Overall, as the film played I found a few things interesting. Pilou Asbaek plays Johansson’s partner or something similar to that. His character loses his vision and gets replacement eyes. That was probably the moment I felt the most emotion during the film. I was glad to see that in the future doctors can restore vision.

     In the end, I am not the target audience for this film. This movie is for teenage boys who play a lot of video games. The story is actually taken from a comic book titled “The Ghost in the Shell.” The film just dropped the article. 

     It is very early in the year, but for now, “Ghost in the Shell” is the worse film I have seen in 2017.

Roger Thomas is a member of the North Carolina Film Critics Association. He reviews films for The Stanly News & Press.

True story of Holocaust comes out in ‘The Zookeeper’s Wife’

The Zookeeper_s Wife

BY ROGER THOMAS

     I have to start by confessing that I do not think any film will ever move me the way “Schindler’s List” did. There have been other Holocaust films that are outstanding; “Sophie’s Choice” being one of them. I recently praised “Denial” as one of the best films of 2016. However, “Schindler’s List” will always be the “platinum standard.”

     “The Zookeeper’s Wife” is a holocaust film set primarily in the Warsaw Zoo. It tells the story  of Antonina Zabinski, the title character, and her husband Jan, who is the zookeeper. In the beginning they are doing all the tasks of anyone else who is running a zoo. 

     However, when the Germans invade Warsaw, Poland, the Zabinski family become rescuers. The Germans take many of the animals for the Berlin Zoo but the Zabinskies save some of the animals from relocation. Then ultimately, they save some people as well. The survival rate of those aided by the Zabinskies is stunning, but their compassionate and desire to do what is right is even more impressive. 

     There is much to like in the film. There is the history that will most likely surprise many. I know I had never heard this story of the Warsaw Zoo.

     There are many scenes involving the animals, some amusing, some tragic, almost all captivating. I personally have a heart for animals and zoos. When I was a young child I often claimed that I was going to be a zookeeper one day. That did not happen, but I do still love animals.

     Another strength of the film is Jessica Chasten. She always does great work, most recently in “Miss Sloane.” Her role as Antonina is much softer than her role in “Sloane” but she is still a very strong figure. The real Antonina must have been a very bold and righteous woman to take the risk and do what had to be done to save the lives of so many.

    Daniel Burl is also one of the better elements of the film. He plays Lutz Heck, the Zookeeper of the Berlin Zoo, a soldier of Hitler’s army and  a member of the Nazi Party. Many of his scenes are chilling.

     The film also looks and sounds great. The cinematography, set decoration, and sound effects recreate the past and fill the screen with many sights and sounds. The zoo is an impressive set but so also is the ghetto where the Germans gather the Jewish citizens of Warsaw. 

     I would offer word of caution. This film is rated PG-13. There is quite a bit less violence and blood than in many other Holocaust films like “Schindler’s List.” However, there are some implied things, including an assault on a young girl by multiple soldiers. This happens off-camera but is still powerfully tragic. There are also scenes of loading people into boxcars and people being shot. I would not recommend this for any children under twelve, but again it is a much softer film than others telling of these horrific events. 

      As compared to all the Holocaust films that have been made, “The Zookeeper’s Wife” is not the best, but this subject has been caught on film many times. Like all the movies that deal with this horrific era, these stories raise a question in our minds. What would we risk if we had to choose? Oskar Schindler took the risk and saved over twelve-hundred people. The zookeeper Jan and his wife Antonina also risked their lives, and the life of there young son and infant daughter to save others. 

     May no one ever have to make the choice again. But let films like “The Zookeeper’s Wife” and “Schindler’s List” remind us that sometimes doing the righteous thing is not easy or safe.

Roger Thomas is a member of the North Carolina Film Critics Association. He reviews films for The Stanly News & Press.

‘Personal Shopper’ is a thriller with very little thrills

Personal Shopper

BY ROGER THOMAS

     Do you believe in ghosts? I am actually neutral on the subject; there may be ghost or maybe not. I have never had an experience with an apparition, though “The Conjuring” really scared me. Some people say that Christians should not believe in ghosts. When someone says that to me I remind them that King Saul went to the Witch of Endor to ask her to raise the ghost of Samuel in the Old Testament. Then in the New Testament there is a scene when Jesus appears to his disciples after his resurrection. Jesus says, “I am not a ghost.” Christ could have ended centuries of debates if He had simply said, “I am not a ghost because ghost do not exist.” Case closed, except that is not what he said. “I am not a ghost” almost implies that there are ghosts.

     “Personal Shopper” is a film about two things: the profession of a personal shopper and her hobby of seeking out spirits. 

     The personal shopping scenes may appeal to some more than others. All the title-character’s clients are rich women who have very specific taste. These moments detracted from the more interesting plot-points of the film.

     Kristen Stewart, the heroine of the “Twilight” teen vampire films, plays the shopper, Maureen Cartwright. Her number one hobby, when she is not picking out expensive outfits, is seeking places where she might have an encounter with a resident of the spiritual realm. 

     Are ghosts real or not? Maureen believes absolutely that they are real. The film answers the question of a spiritual reality early in the film, but Maureen wants more than just an encounter with any phantom; she wants to be haunted by her deceased twin brother.

     In the midst of personal shopping and ghost hunting, Maureen also begins to get anonymous texts. Is this her brother, a client, someone she has met, or someone she does not even know? 

When Maureen was getting texts, I did find myself wondering how a ghost would be able to type text messages. Even with my questions, the text mystery lingers for much of the film and ultimately becomes the best plot-line of the three except for a weak climax.

     The film has a few strengths. Stewart does as much as can be done with the Maureen character. There are also some nice shots of Paris and other parts of Europe as Maureen delivers her wares to her clients. In the beginning of the text messages, the film does create a curious situation; I, for one, was intrigued until it became tiresome.

     The greatest flaw of the film is that there are no real thrills. The film is advertised as a thriller but nothing on screen startled me even in the slightest way. I was not expecting the thrills of “The Conjuring,” but I, at least, thought there would be something that intrigued me. 

      I suppose the best praise I can offer the film is that it resurrected a memory I had not considered for decades. Years ago I was having a conversation with the mother of my college roommate. I have forgotten how we got on that subject but I will never forget what she said, “When you lose someone you love, sometimes you miss them so much you just want to see them one more time, even if they appear as a ghost. A floating spirit would be enough.” At that time I had not lost as many people as I have now. I completely understand what my friend’s mom was proclaiming.

     “Personal Shopper,” even with all its many weaknesses, reminded me of the conversation nearly thirty-five years ago. Like Maureen in the film and the mother of my friend, occasionally some of us may actually hope for a haunting.

Roger Thomas is a member of the North Carolina Film Critics Association. He reviews films for The Stanly News & Press.