Baymax, Hiro deliver ‘Big’ thrills

big hero 6

Baymax and Hiro begin their epic journey for justice in the Disney film ‘Big Hero 6.’ (Photo courtesy of Disney)

As most trailers should, the trailer for “Big Hero 6” only offers brief glimpses of a film that seems more interested in sweet humor than anything poignant or intricate.

I am happy to say the trailer is deceptive; there is so much more in this truly amazing animated feature from the people who brought us “Wreck-It Ralph” (a film of which I was not fond) and “Frozen” (a film that impressed me with its brilliance).

There are many things happening in “Big Hero 6.” It is a story of family, friendship and, of course, robotics. It is also a film about anger, revenge, sorrow, regret and loss.

It starts small and morphs into an epic story of heroism and superheroes. There are plenty of cute moments and great humor, but the film does not just seek to amuse. When all is said and done, this film exceeds expectations. It certainly did mine, and I bet it will yours as well.

There are also several artistic visual decisions that are very creative. The film looks great. It is set in the city of San Fransokyo (do not try to find it on a map); from the opening shots the cityscape impresses. There is also a rainbow of brilliant bright colors that add to the playfulness of the film, even though several elements of the film tend to be slightly darker and less colorful.

Beyond the look of the film, there are wonderful characters. We have seen many animated features that truly have just a few characters in which to focus on. Boy, girl, villain, villain’s sidekick and perhaps one or two more. “Big Hero 6” offers enough supporting players to fill half a dozen films and most of these have significant roles in the story.

(Spoiler alert.) Another detail that gives Big Hero a harsher edge and adds a certain gravitas to the film is the death of a key character. Way back in 1942, Walt Disney shocked moviegoers with the death of Bambi’s mother. It was 52 years later before young Simba watched his father trampled to death in “The Lion King.” Just last year, Elsa and Anna lost both their parents in a tragic shipwreck at the beginning of “Frozen.”

This year, “Big Hero 6” offers another sad demise of a caring family member. Children today have certainly seen more tragedy in recent animated films than those growing up in the era of “Bambi.” The death in this film elevates the story and gives it weight, but with younger children, there may have to be conversations following the death.

All of these elements make great entertainment for the children who will be amused by Baymax (the inflated robot health care provider) and will cheer for Hiro. As for the parents, they will welcome the truth that “Big Hero 6” is not as predictable as it could have been and ultimately is surprising as it exceeds most expectations.

As I watched “Big Hero 6,” I begin to wonder if this is another Oscar contender for Best Animated Feature. “The Lego Movie” has been the frontrunner for several months. Recently, the Japanese film “The Tale of Princes Kaguya” has become a strong contender as well.

“Big Hero 6,” at least for me, is right up there with both of these films. All three are uniquely different. Each has its strengths and its weaknesses. But ultimately all three are worthy of Oscar’s consideration.

“Big Hero 6” was the top film of last weekend. Why not discover why it is doing so well by checking it out soon. It is a soaring good time at the cinema.

From ComingSoon.net

Release Date: November 7, 2014 (3D/2D theaters)
Studio: Walt Disney Animation Studios
Director: Don Hall, Chris Williams
Screenwriter: Not Available
Starring: Ryan Potter, Scott Adsit, T.J. Miller, Jamie Chung, Damon Wayans Jr., Genesis Rodriguez, Maya Rudolph, James Cromwell, Alan Tudyk, Daniel Henney
Genre: Adventure, Animation, Comedy
MPAA Rating: PG (for action and peril, some rude humor, and thematic elements)

Get Tickets

Fandango.com                    AMC Theatres                   IMDB.com

DVD review: ‘Jersey Boys’ best when singing

Film Review-Jersey Boys

‘Jersey Boys’ tells the story of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons. (Photo courtesy of Warner Bros.)

When the end credits began to roll during the screening of “Jersey Boys,” a woman sitting next to me, who I did not know and who appeared to be at least 10 years older than I am, posed this question to me: “Have you seen the stage play?” I, of course, responded honestly, “No, I have not.” To which she replied with one single sentence of three words, “Oh, it’s wonderful!” And our conversation was over.

I left the theatre wondering what she thought of “Jersey Boys” the movie. I had a pretty clear idea of what she thought about the play. However, her endorsement of the stage production almost seemed to be a condemnation of the film. She did not say, “The stage play is far better than this film.” Nor did she say, “The film is as good as the play.” Or, “The play exceeds the film, but the film was still pretty good.” She only seemed to want to convey one thought to me. “The play is wonderful.”

Going in I only knew of the film what little I had read about it, and the trailer I had seen many times before viewing other films. My musings here are only my reactions to the film; but hey, I hear the play is wonderful.

First, this is a musical with great songs. In case anyone does not know, this is the story of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons. If you like their music, which I do, then you will find your toes tapping and you may even sing along, just do it softly with respect to those sitting around you.

I also liked the way the narration is delivered in character by the actors. I assume this is an element lifted from the play, and it gives the film a real stage atmosphere, plus it shares great insight into the events happening on screen.

I am not sure exactly how much the four actors resemble the real Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons, but I liked the performances and thought the actors were fine in the roles. I especially liked Christopher Walken’s supporting role as a “friend” of the group. It was good to see Walken play a role closer to the father in “Catch Me If You Can” rather than some of the stranger characters he has embodied through the years.

And of course, the film is directed by Clint Eastwood who has given us two Best Picture Winners (“Unforgiven” and “Million Dollar Baby”), a third that should have won (“Letters from Iwo Jima”), plus such great works as “Mystic River,” “Changling” and “Gran Torino,” just to name a few.

I would put “Jersey Boys” on a lower tier than any of those works. It is not a bad film. The problem is that the film is at its best when the boys are singing. Some of the early exploits are humorous and fun, but in the end, and I am sure this is historically accurate; the real drama comes when fame and success ruin what they have.

How many times have we seen self-destruction on the big screen? How many films have told true stories of individuals or groups who are their own worst enemies? When “Jersey Boys” begins the downward spiral, the film becomes all too familiar and less than it was.

So, for me, it is a mixed review. I liked a good portion of it, especially the musical numbers and the narration. But, much of this film is a journey already taken in many other films.

Eastwood has done better, and let’s hope he keeps making films, rather than his other gig: talking to furniture. Unlike the woman who sat next to me proclaimed of the play, I cannot state that the film “Jersey Boys” from start to finish is “wonderful.”

Reviews of the Past: ‘Top Ten List of 2013’

Most critics release their Top Ten Lists in December or at least the first week in January. I am usually a little behind because I have to wait for Charlotte to get the last few films I want to see before making my decision. But the time has come. I have struggled with my choices, debated them within my mind, and finally concluded that today, in this moment, these are the films that I think are the best of 2013.

Two criteria I use in making a best list are “Do I want to see it again?” and “Did it move me emotionally?” These two questions almost always define great films.

First, here are thirteen films that almost made my list: “American Hustle,” “Before Midnight,” “Captain Phillips,” “The Conjuring,” “The East,” “Frozen,” “Her,” “Monsters University,” “Mud,” “The Purge,” “Saving Mr. Banks,” “Short Term 12,” and “The Way Way Back.” In a lesser year, any of these could have made the “BIG” list.

And here they are in reverse order:

10. Rush

Rush_13

I still cannot understand why Ron Howard’s racing film did not catch on. (It made less that $27 million.) Amazing action, stellar cinematography, great acting, and masterful dialogue carry this true story of rivalry and ultimately respect. I have no interest in auto racing in any form whatsoever but I was enthralled with every moment of this film.

9. Inside Llewyn Davis

Inside_Llewyn_Davis_4

I love the fact that Joel and Ethan Coen will create a movie about any subject and it is almost always intriguing and superbly presented. I have little interest in folk songs and the people who sing them, however every frame of this film captivated me. Oscar Isaac should at least be nominated for best actor, though he probably will not be. And this film boasts the best performance by a cat in the last several years.

8. Still Mine

StillMine_Poster632

A small quiet film about aging, dignity, human rights, commitment and love. This film was seen by fewer people than any other film on my list ($1.2 millon at the box office) but I believe it boasts the single most touching, poignant and wise scene in any film of this past year. There is no release date yet for the DVD, but if and when it comes out, I hope many will discover the authentic joy and love this true story holds.

7. Disconnect

Disconnect_1

After the first six months of the year this film was at the top of my list. Again, a film almost no one saw ($1.4 million at the box office), which is now available on DVD and Blu-Ray. I can hardly go anywhere that I do not spot reminders of the truth of this film that is all about our current dependency on our electronics.

6. Gravity

Gravity_1

Visually awe-inspiring. Great performance by Sandra Bullock. A captivating story. And the best live-action 3-D I have ever seen. This is also the most financially successful film on my list with a current gross of $256 million. But whenever I think back about Gravity, it is not the visuals that I ponder or the popularity of the film. It is the sad woman, grieving the loss of a child and confronting herself on issues of faith, and whether she has the will to go forward into uncertainty.

5. Philomena

Philomena_1

This film was flying below the radar and even after I began to hear good things, I was still slightly reluctant to see it. Ending up fifth on my list proves if won me over. Another amazing true story (one of six on my list this year which might be a record). Judy Dench will most likely not get her second Oscar for this film, but if I could cast a vote, she would get mine. The moments when she is still and the camera is on her, Dench speaks volumes without any dialogue. And the final moments of the film are priceless.

4. 12 Years a Slave

12_Years_a_Slave_7

The most disturbing film I saw this year and that list includes The Conjuring, The Purge and You’re Next. But 12 Years is disturbing because it is real and true. It is not an easy film to endure, but it is an important film, and after some time away, I feel I am ready to view it again, not because it will be easier to watch a second time, but because it will not be. And that is the strength of the film.

3. Dallas Buyers Club

Dallas_Buyers_Club_10

Two Golden Globe winning performances by Matthew McConaughey and Jared Leto. That would be enough to recommend this film but there is so much more. There is the wonderful scene in the grocery store that I wrote about in my review. There is the transformation of McConaughey’s character plus the politics and humor and so much more. Of all the films on my list, this is the biggest surprise. I did not expect to like it this much.

2. Nebraska

Nebraska_8

The day I sat down and ranked these films, a friend of mine called me to tell me he had just seen Nebraska the night before. As we talked of the film, I realized how much joy this simple movie brought to me when I saw it, and whenever I have thought about it since. It is not a lot of things some other films on this list are, but it is still an amazing piece of work, hitting all the right notes.

1. Fruitvale Station

Fruitvale_Station_9

Whenever I describe this film to anyone I always start by telling the person about the structure of the story. What a smart decision director Ryan Coogler made. Compared to many films on my list, this is small film. (And one few saw with a box office gross of only $16 million.) As far as films about race this year, The Butler and 12 Years a Slave are both more ambitious and more popular than Fruitvale Station. But the images I most remember from any of the three films are the glimpses of a young man’s life before he went to the Fruitvale Station on New Year’s Eve.

There you have it. Counting the thirteen “honorable mentions” you have twenty-three films to catch on home video in the months ahead. They are a diverse group, but if you choose any of these, I do not think you can go wrong.