We want your input

film11

Hello, devoted readers and newcomers to Roger Thomas Reviews. We’re always glad that you stopped by.

Being the editor and main poster for this blog, I want to get some input from you the readers. We’re looking to expand this blog into bigger and better things. Our main interest is to not only post the original thoughts of our critic, Roger Thomas, but to also make this a more lively and active site you can visit for all kinds of things related to movies.

Previously, I’ve tinkered with everything from polls to coming attractions. But I’m interested in what you’re looking for as we ponder some ideas of our own we hope to start sharing on here.

What things related to movies would you like to see? Is there something out there on the Internet you think is cool that we should try? Are you big into things like movie news or trailers? Would you like to see more reviews or would you want to be a part of the review process?

Hit me up with your thoughts by emailing me at jasonboyd@mail.com. The idea can be big or small, short-term or long-term. If you think it’s interesting, we want to hear about it.

Thanks again for visiting the site and go catch a movie this weekend. Roger’s review on “Interstellar” alone has convinced me to check out the film later today.

Have a great weekend! — Jason

Reviews of the Past: ‘Mortal Instruments: City of Bones’

The next set of reviews we’ll be publishing are some of the ones Roger Thomas has done exclusively for The Stanly News & Press. Roger has written movie reviews for The Stanly News & Press and other outlets for years, long before starting this blog. So we decided it would be good to give readers a sample of his previous work, in addition to posts of reviews of current films. Other reviews will run daily.

mortal-instruments-city-of-bones10

Lily Collins

To begin, there are the two adjectives that ran through my mind while watching “The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones” the two words are busy and complex. A lot happens in this film, and most of it happens fast while unpacking significant information as it moves. It leaves one with the feeling that something important might have been missed.

The movie is based on a book series that I have not read. It probably would have been easier to follow if I had read the stories. However, I found myself comparing it to Harry Potter, and this did not strengthen my opinion of the film. (I will admit that I read every Harry Potter book years before I saw the movie versions; that fact influences what I am about to say.) J.K. Rowling’s magical world is complex, but the films always seemed to make everything logical and believable. With no knowledge of the “Mortal Instrument” books, I felt I was constantly trying to catch up with the plot.

With that said, there are some strengths to the film. The young attractive cast seems to believe what they are saying and have some good moments. Lily Collins who plays Clary, a young girl who does not know she and her mother are special, leads this group. Collins was in “The Blind Side” and the dreadful “Mirror, Mirror.” Jamie Campbell Bower plays Jace, the strange young man who introduces Clary to the supernatural world. Bower was previously in Tim Burton’s “Sweeney Todd” and played King Author in the short-lived television series “Camelot,” which is much better than “Mortal Instruments.” Robert Sheehan plays Simon, the only character with no supernatural powers and has the best comic line in the film. He also has a story thread that is not resolved in this film and this is little confusing. Kevin Zegers and Jemima West round out the quintet of young actors that populate most of the story and action sequences.Lena Headey “(Game of Thrones)” and Jonathan Rhys Meyers “(The Tudors),” who are almost always good, play adults with many secrets that impact the lives of the young characters.

The film is also often a visual feast. I especially like the scene in the greenhouse and the stunning effects that create the portal. The scene with the hand in the portal is possibly the best moment in the film.

A good cast and great effects are not enough to launch a new franchise, are they? Should not the story be stronger and clearer? Vampires, werewolves, runes, angels, a convoluted history, I think I have it all straight and then something else happens. 

To add to that, like with most of the other summer blockbusters, there are two many extended fight scenes. The finale fight alone seemed to last 45 minutes or more. And the script needed more humor. (Once again consider the brilliant humor in the “Harry Potter” films, even the darker ones toward the end of the series.)

One other note, I have nothing against political correctness. I think it is simple common courtesy actually. You strive to not offend me, and I will do the same for you. That said, “Instruments’” screenplay, in several key moments, seems to be desperately attempting to make political statements. In the midst of all that defines this film, these statements just seem awkward. (I recognize that these lines of dialogue may have been lifted directly from the book.) 

I took my children to see this film. I believe they are the target audience and both of them liked it more than me. My daughter especially enjoyed it and my son now wants to read the book. Well, somebody needs to like it because filmmakers are already at work making the sequel “(The Mortal Instruments: City of Ashes).” Who knows now that I have everything clear in my head from the first movie, I may like the second one. Except I am still not sure what is happening to Simon.

Box Office results

Domestic gross: $31,165,421

Foreign gross: $59,400,000

Production budget: $60 million

Opening weekend: $9,336,957

NOTE: Information from Boxofficemojo.com