‘Interstellar’ is out of this world

interstellar-has-over-an-hour-of-imax-footage

Matthew McConaughey, Anne Hathaway and David Gyasi. (Photo courtesy of Sony Pictures)

There are few names that inspire more excitement from movie fans than Christopher Nolan.

The first film written and directed by Nolan that I saw was “Memento.” It ended up second on my Top Ten List in 2000. His followup “Insomnia,” a remake of a foreign film, was good but left me hoping his career would soon bring us another “Memento.”

Instead, Nolan gave us three great Batman films. (Obviously, “The Dark Knight” being the best of the three, but the others are fun, smart, witty and work well as chapters in a very impressive trilogy.) And between chapters of the Caped Crusader, Nolan has given us “The Prestige,” my daughter’s favorite film by this gifted director/writer, and “Inception,” a film of which I think often and need to watch again soon.

Like Spielberg and Scorsese, the announcement of a new Nolan project creates immediate excitement.

The autumn of 2014 has brought us another brilliant creation from Nolan: “Interstellar.” This film is again an amazingly ambitious project. From the very first moments as a truck speeds through a corn field, there is an energy to this film that is engulfing. I knew nothing of these characters or what was going to happen to them over the next almost three hours (169 minutes to be exact) and yet I was totally involved with them immediately.

Following the speedy chase through a corn field, several things happen to move the story toward the space adventure the film ultimately becomes. And it is grand adventure.

Stellar effects, stunning sites, detailed art direction, engaging characters, amazing ideas about space and traveling through it … this list does not even begin to cover the strengths of this film.

One simple example of the creativity of this film is the design of the artificial intelligence (robots) that accompany the astronauts on their journey. There is so much up on the screen continuously, the film could exist without story, character development or a plot, and the experience would still be something special. (I saw the film in the Imax format and I highly recommend this to everyone, because it certainly expands the “awe factor” action and cinematography.)

With all that written, however, here is what I really think about “Interstellar”: the film is best in the most intimate moments. When a father says to his daughter, “When you and your brother were born, your mother said our primary purpose now was to give the two of you memories.” As a parent, that quote touched me deeply because it is the truth.

There is a conversation later in the film about what place “love” has in the vastness of the cosmos. Another great moment. And there are others. Christopher Nolan and his brother, Jonathon, write great screenplays. May they collaborate many more times in the days ahead.

Again, I say, the spectacle of this film is stunning, but less amazing than the truths displayed through conversations between the characters.

Before I end this review sounding like the film is perfect, I would offer one other thought: the climax of the film contains an element that seems all too familiar. I kept thinking, “I have seen this before.” Hours after viewing the film, I realized what other movie had done something so similar.

So much of “Interstellar” is completely original, so I found a little disappointment slipping into the moments when the film is peaking dramatically. No one else may have this issue; if you do not, then the film will most likely be an absolute success for you.

   As for me, in spite of the parts of which I have reservations, “Interstellar” is one of the best films of 2014. As with all of Nolan’s films, I look forward to seeing it again.

DVD Review: Hoffman shines in ‘Most Wanted’

most-wanted-man-2014-large-picture

‘A Most Wanted Man’ stars Phillip Seymour Hoffman, who died earlier this year. (Photo courtesy of Lionsgate)

Like most people of my generation, I grew up thinking that all spies operated like 007. Of course, as I matured, and “James Bond” films seemed to become more and more immature, I realized how fictionalized these films were.

Of course, Bond films turned a corner and became much more realistic again, or perhaps more realistic than they had ever been, when Daniel Craig took over the lead role. I have enjoyed all three of Craig’s films and I hope there will be more.

In the meantime, there are other films that depict government spies: “A Most Wanted Man” is an excellent example of this. “Wanted Man” is a very serious and complex spy thriller. I am not sure if there is even one laugh or bit of humor in the entire film. As often as not, one is unclear where all this is leading, but the complexity of the story is part of the charm of the film.

This is a tale of very somber people, attempting to prevent massive destruction and death, while the rest of us are busy living simpler lives. I have no reference to judge whether any of the procedures or practices depicted in the film are anything close to the reality of espionage. But if it is close, I admire those who make tough decisions in order to achieve the goal that two characters state at different times in the film, “To make the world a safer place.”

“Wanted Man” has many strengths, including a great screenplay, wonderful cinematography and strong performances. Perhaps, however, it might be remembered in future days most prominently because it was the last film of Philip Seymour Hoffman.

Hoffman died tragically earlier this year. He left a great legacy of work. When I think of his passing, I think of the loss of future films he would have made. And I look back: “Almost Famous,” “The Ides of March,” “Doubt,” “Charlie Wilson’s War,” “Capote” (his Oscar-winning performance) and the list could go on and on. In each of these films, Hoffman had great lines of dialogue and he delivered them with incredible style.

In a supporting role in “The Talented Mr. Ripley,” Hoffman played Freddie Miles, the only person who realized what Mr. Ripley was all about. In a much different film, “A Most Wanted Man,” Hoffman plays Günther Bachmann, once again the smartest person in the room. Neither Bachmann or Freddie Miles is very likeable, but one has to admire their ability to sort out the truth.

Ultimately that is what “A Most Wanted Man” is truly about, uncovering the truth. There are quite a few twists in the film and it requires a concentrated viewing. It is not a film one should watch casually, at least not if one desires to understand the climax. But it is a film that satisfies. The climax works splendidly, and the final moments are nearly perfect.

“A Most Wanted Man” is based on the novel by spy thriller author, John le Carré. I have seen several of the adaptations of his work through the years, though I have never read a book by him.

Film adaptations of his work that I have seen include “The Constant Gardener,” “Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy” and “The Tailor of Panama.” “A Most Wanted Man” is the best of this lot.

It is an exciting, intricate spy thriller and a great swan song for a very gifted actor.

Box Office results

Domestic gross: $17,231,449 (as of Nov. 2)

Foreign gross: $14,317,000

Production budget: NA

Opening weekend: $2,687,227

NOTE: Information from Boxofficemojo.com

Reviews of the Past: ‘The Internship’

The next set of reviews we’ll be publishing are some of the ones Roger Thomas has done exclusively for The Stanly News & Press. Roger has written movie reviews for The Stanly News & Press and other outlets for years, long before starting this blog. So we decided it would be good to give readers a sample of his previous work, in addition to posts of reviews of current films. Other reviews will run daily.

maxresdefault

Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson

I think I have written before that people accuse me of not liking comedies. I always argue that I love comedies, I just find very few intelligent ones. I do not like overtly silly or mindless comedies, usually. The year 2012 provided four comedies that I thought were witty, smart, thought-provoking and among the best films of last year: “Bernie,” “Ruby Sparks,” “Safety Not Guaranteed” and “Silver Linings Playbook.” Every one of these makes me smile when I just think about the film’s best moments. Each of these films also revealed a part of the human experience; the laughs were great, but the weight of the stories is what made the films significant.

Recently I saw the first comedy of 2013 that made me laugh out loud often. It is not as clever as any of the films listed above, but it is the funniest film I have seen so far this year, and it also ends up being a touching film about friendship and commitment.

The premise of the film is simple. Two recently fired salesmen in their early 40s decide to seek an internship at Google even though they are 25 years older than the average interns. Add to that the fact that they know very little about computers and let the fun begin.

“The Internship” works because Owen Wilson and Vince Vaughn are very humorous throughout, but a great cast also supports them. Many actors play small or supporting roles that make this movie stronger. Will Ferrell, who is only in one scene, delivers a perfect cameo as a twisted mattress salesman, and this is just one example of a small part that lifts the laugh quota of the film.

Beyond the performances, the setting plays an important role in how this motion picture succeeds. I have not read how the filmmakers convinced search-engine giant Google to participate, but the placing of these characters in this environment is brilliant. Is this anything close to a real internship at Google? Probably not, but it is fun to watch it on screen.

As with most comedies, the film does have some weaknesses. The plot is fairly predictable. The film is built around a competition; we assume we know where it is heading early on. There are some twists, but the film’s ending satisfies and concludes in the same pattern as most competition comedies. Plus there is a standard love story heading in the direction we expect.

I would also add a warning. The film is rated PG-13. This can be misleading. Though most of the film would be fine for older children, there was a lengthy scene in the movie that I do not believe is appropriate for anyone under 15. Everyone has a different opinion on the exposure of youth to certain elements in films. There was a group of 10-year-olds seated near me and I felt a little uncomfortable by their presence even though they were anonymous individuals who I had never met. I would urge caution to parents of pre-teens who want to see the film.

I cannot say absolutely that “The Internship” meets my definition of intelligent comedy, but it does have its moments. Late in the film Owen Wilson gives this impassioned speech about how the world has changed since the 70s when his and Vaughn’s character were children. Wilson lists the differences including that in the 70s nobody had computers and no one used seat belts. (It is much funnier than it sounds; I smile every time I think of that speech.) I am a little older than Wilson or Vaughn but I could relate easily to the truth of those motivational words. That one speech made the film greater than it was before.

I hope 2013 has many great comedies; but for now, “The Internship” is the best.

Box Office results

Domestic gross: $44,672,764

Foreign gross: $48,820,080

Production budget: $58 million

Opening weekend: $17,325,307

NOTE: Information from Boxofficemojo.com