Reviews of the Past: ‘The Campaign’

The next set of reviews we’ll be publishing are some of the ones Roger Thomas has done exclusively for The Stanly News & Press. Roger has written movie reviews for The Stanly News & Press and other outlets for years, long before starting this blog. So we decided it would be good to give readers a sample of his previous work, in addition to posts of reviews of current films. Other reviews will run daily.

the-campaign-movie-poster-19

Zach Galifianakis and Will Ferrell

A few weeks ago I wrote a review of “The Watch.” I was not kind to the film, and several people have made comments to me since then. I write nice things about 10 films and no one comments but if I attack a film, suddenly people notice. One night at Walmart I had two separate individuals in a span of five minutes stop me and thank me for steering them away from “The Watch.” Glad to be of service.

I bring that up to say, when I criticized “The Watch” for its vulgarity, I meant what I said.  I can do without that material, but if a filmmaker chooses to include it, there better be something worthwhile to justify the crude things I have endured in order to experience the good.

“The Campaign” is a very vulgar movie. Not more profane than “The Watch”, but not a lot less than that film. Do not misinterpret my review, I am not giving “The Campaign” a free pass, however, I do think “Campaign” has real substance and meaning. I could have done without many elements in “Campaign”, but I did enjoy much of the political humor, I respect the conclusion of the film, and I cheer many of the accusations and parodies the film displays with respect to the election process in 2012. Turn on any of the news channels (choose your bias) and then take a serious look at what is being passed off as sincere campaigning. The process is ripe for ridicule and “Campaign” does it about as good as anyone can.

There is much to like here. Both Will Ferrell and Zach Galifianakis are perfectly cast as men seeking a seat in Congress. Ferrell’s character has held the seat uncontested for many years but after a scandal erupts, some feel he needs some competition. Galifianakis plays the worse candidate anyone can imagine, and yet he both rises and falls to the occasion on multiple occasions for multiple reasons. Beyond skewering candidates, the film mocks supporters, debates, scandals, the use of religion in politics, and so much more. I especially liked the portrayal by Dan Aykroyd and John Lithgow as the Motch brothers who do not really care who wins as long as they reap the benefits. Obviously the Motch brothers represent the real Koch brothers who would like nothing more than to buy this year’s election. 

I am not sure “The Campaign” will change anyone’s mind. I am one of those who believes most people are unmovable in their political beliefs. It would be easier to get individuals to change his or her religion. Then, of course, for some their politics are their religion. I think most of us want the other side to clean up the election process, but we are fine with our candidate’s behavior. 

“The Campaign” does not pick sides. Both the Republican and the Democrat are flawed and each behaves in reprehensible ways. The losers are ultimately the very people they seek to serve. And yet, in the film, things work out. In the end, there is hope. It is a nice thought anyway, even if it is not reality.

If you want to take a break from all the coverage that is coming soon with the two conventions, the four debates, and lots and lots of bombarding opinions being peddled as news, you may want to check out “The Campaign.” Just remember, if you do, expect the profane and the vulgar.

Box Office results

Domestic gross: $86,907,746

Foreign gross: $18,000,000

Production budget: NA

Opening weekend: $26,588,460

NOTE: Information from Boxofficemojo.com